Picture
Being at Guppy and Kristin's house was amazing, I've already gained back almost 10 lbs., I can't say thank you enough to them for picking me up and being a part of the journey.  It was so nice to have a comfortable bed to sleep in and unlimited access to the fridge.
Last night I flew into Grand Rapids, Michigan and will be staying with my friends Dave and Jen again until heading back up to Wisconsin and then back out to Washington by October.

Its an odd thing to go from the simple life of walking everyday, to being driven around in a car and having access to anything that your little heart desires.  I've had to think about where my water is coming from, do I have enough food for this section, will I be warm enough tonight, does the next shelter have a privy..., but now, none of that seems to be of any concern.  Water comes from the tap, I can get a pizza anytime I want, (they will even deliver it to me) if I'm cold, I just go get another layer or another blanket and there are bathrooms everywhere.  Which reality is "normal" life?
In many ways the trail was my comfort zone, life seems easier out there, you walk, you eat, you sleep, there's not much drama, etc.  It's when I would get into towns that all of the sudden there were tons of decisions to make, tons of people to deal with, tons of drama going on everywhere, my anxiety would go way up and I just couldn't wait to get back on the trail.  Now that I don't have a trail to get back to, my goal is to remember the things that I learned out there, that life doesn't have to be complicated, that you can control how other people affect you, that every day is a new day, that I don't have to be the person that I was and that growth and repentance are a daily process.

In terms of my relationship with Cassandra, I'm not completely healed yet, its not an overnight process, but it will come.  I'm thankful for the time that we have had together and I wish her the best.  The bitterness and questions that I started the trail with have faded and don't seem very important anymore, I've been able to let go and not let those thoughts control me.  This transition marks a new beginning and I'm excited to see where God takes me on this journey.

-jason
Cheryl Borek
9/20/2011 03:55:09 am

Guppy and Kristen Getbehead??? I know them from when they lived in NH and we were all members of Harbor Church.. My 10 year old son and I thru-hiked last year..much, much slower than you (April 2-Sept. 23). So cool - congrats!!!
P.S. My trail name was 4:13 and my son was Scooter. Miss the trail every day.

Reply
7/24/2012 12:34:21 pm

Thank you for every one of your effort on this website.

Reply



Leave a Reply.