The second half of the High Sierras: rugged, fall colors, mountains of rock, cascading waterfalls, hot-springs, wild-animal sightings, highest elevations of the trail..Forester Pass at 13,200 ft., the highest point on the PCT,  loomed in front of us, begging us to pass before winter storms set in...But what happened?  Los Angeles received record-high temperatures and we traipsed through the Sierras with beautiful weather, day and night!...Until we reached Forester Pass and snow started to fly!  Other southbound friends of ours were days behind us and were unable to cross the Pass due to the weather...we had just made it!  We flew down from Forester Pass across a barren landscape to find shelter from the storm within tree-cover...then on to Kennedy Meadows to resupply, chow down, and where we would run into Giraffe and his wife Zookeeper (Dick and Heidi); a great treat to have new friends to hike with!

To see the pictures, click on the link below and scroll down until you find the corresponding journal entry!

See more photos here!

Much adventure and love!
Cassandra
Cameron Hirtle
3/26/2011 08:42:34 am

Wow, first off let me just say that your website has been helpful and eye-opening, as this has been a dream of mine that just recently I have begun to start looking at bringing to light, now that I am graduated from college and beginning to work and put away some money. I had a few questions. First of all, I am from Roseburg, OR, so originally I was thinking I would want to go South to North, which a lot of guides recommend. Now that I see you went North-South, I am thinking that may be what I would want to try, since if I could have a freind drive me to the Washington border it would be a much closer trip than driving all the way south through Cali. I noticed you guys ended in November, whereas many people say to try to end in September before the snow line creeps up too high. I am curious if this is one of the benefits from starting North (late start allowing a late end). Also, I am just beginning to look at resupply points, and am curious how you planned this. I.e., how many miles between each check point you generally planned, and how to gauge how much food to carry without underestimating or overweighing yourself down. Also, how much fuel did you carry each and how long in general did this last you? My main concerns I guess are 1) Resupply points and 2) Not getting stuck too late in the fall season. I know its a lot of questions, but looking at all your pictures is getting me excited for what I hope to start by spring of 2013. I am climbing Mount Thielsen in a couple weeks for the 8th time, and walking past the point where the trail intersects the PCT gets my mind racing every time. Many blessings and hopes to great adventures in the future! -Cam H

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.