Hi Friends and Family! 
It's Cassandra here, and thanks to our neighbors, we have some internet access for a little while!  Thanks you guys (you know who you are ;)!
So we're in Etna, CA, enjoying our motel room and a zero day.  I've enjoyed looking at all the comments and catching up on Facebook-thank you for your continued prayers and encouraging notes!  We'd love to reply to them all but you know, internet access is limited in the wilderness and in these little towns!

We've crossed the 1000 mile mark and yes, we could be overwhelmed by how many more miles we have to go, but we're excited about it...California is just a whole new adventure waiting for us!  The Sierras, Lake Tahoe, vistas, Trail Angels, autumn weather, more time together...It's good!

On to other important news, I've eaten my second beef burger tonight-I've thrown in the towel and have been eating all that I can, especially with protein.  It's just so hard to eat enough on the trail-I was thinking about contacting a friend of mine asking for the most calorie/fat intensive meal he could create with backpacking food.  It's not too often we can live life with goals like eating the most fat possible!  And I'm still skinnier than I have been since middle school!  It's truly a concern that we eat enough to make sure we have energy to keep up with the demands of walking over 25 miles a day with a pack on, so pray for our health!

We're moving on to Castella tomorrow and like I said, we're looking forward to all that God continues to bestow on us, especially this time together.  We're sending our pictures from Oregon and more journals, so hope you enjoy those!  Let us know if there's anything you'd like to see more of or hear more of!

Cheers,
Cassandra 
Becca
8/23/2010 10:08:39 am

I look forward to hearing about what made the laundry room so rad. I'm so proud of you guys. It seems like the time is flying fast. I think I saw my first NOBO yesterday hitching a ride west. I think he thought I was stopping for him but was just pulling off to go home. :( Poor guy. But he did get a ride quick; I checked a few minuteslater. Will you guys get blueberries in CA? They were popping out full force last week when we did a training (and summited) Baker last week. I'm stoked to get more here soon. Much love and encouragement from MJ and I!

Reply
Curt Esteb
8/23/2010 11:18:11 am

Ok, some of my favorites from a book I'm currently reading. Yes, we have probably all seen these, but many are cute, good reminders and fitting for your trip!

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do, so throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in you sails. Explore. Dream. Discover" - Mark Twain

"Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly" - Robert F. Kennedy

"Don't settle for style. Succeed in substance" - Wynton Marsalis

"Insist upon yourself. Be original" - Ralph Waldo Emerson

"Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind" - Dr SEUSS

And this has become my personal favorite as I think about you on your journey... and while watching and reading your blog:

"We can't all be heroes because somebody has to sit on the curb and clap as they go by" - Will Rogers

Reply
Sami
8/24/2010 11:07:13 pm

Thank you guys for doing the laundry and for the stove alcohol.

Enjoy California! I'm sure you'll make it through no problem at all. :)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.